USAF Retiree Council

Posted: April 13, 2012 in Uncategorized

The Air Force Retiree Council provides the link between members of the Air Force retiree community — retirees, family members and surviving spouses living throughout the world — and the Air Force chief of staff. It is comprised of two co-chairmen and 15 members representing retirees by geographical areas in the United States and overseas. Currently, there are also two members-at-large appointed by the co-chairmen for their expertise in certain areas needed at the time of appointment. Annual meetings are held at Randolph Air Force Base, Texas. Air Force Retiree Council vacancies are publicized in the Afterburner, News for USAF Retired Personnel; and via the Air Force Retiree News Service. The Retiree Council was established in 1972 with the first meeting in 1973 chaired by the late Brig. Gen. Roy Casbeer (USAF retired). There have been seven chairmen since then. Effective in 1999, the Air Force chief of staff established co-chairmen. Incumbents are retired Lt. Gen. Steven R. Polk and retired former Chief Master Sgt. of the Air Force Rodney J. McKinley.
The council co-chairmen are the Air Force chief of staff's liaison with the retiree community and work directly for the chief. They chair the Air Force Retiree Council, which meets annually at the Air Force Personnel Center to discuss retiree issues. Upon conclusion of the meeting, they report the council's findings directly to the chief. The council is comprised of the co-chairmen, 13 members who represent geographic areas within the continental United States, and one representative each from the Pacific and European areas. Currently, there are two at-large positions. There are 109 Retiree Activities Offices and each council member oversees the retiree activities programs within his/her respective area of responsibility. The co-chairmen play an active role in the identification and selection of council members.
At the invitation of local commanders and Retiree Activities Office directors, the co-chairmen visit Air Force installations to speak about issues concerning retirees and their dependents. They maintain contact with many military associations and obtain their views on retiree matters. They also meet with retiree council co-chairmen from the other services to discuss issues that are common to all military retirees. Retirees can write to General Polk or Chief McKinley at: HQ AFPC/CCU , 550 C STREET WEST STE 8 , RANDOLPH AFB TX 78150-4713. The following retirees currently serve on the Air Force Retiree Council:
 Lt. Gen. Steven R. Polk, Co-Chairman
 Chief Master Sgt. of the Air Force No. 15 Rodney J. McKinley, Co-Chairman
 Col. Milton L. Feltch, Area I representative – Oregon, Idaho, Montana and Washington
 Chief Master Sgt. Thomas P. Kelley, Area II representative – California
 Chief Master Sgt. Kathleen E. Rose, Area III representative – Arizona and New Mexico
 Lt. Col. John S. Lannefeld, Area IV representative – Colorado, Nevada, Utah and Wyoming
 Chief Master Sgt. Danny G. Holwerda, Area V representative – Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota and Wisconsin
 Chief Master Sgt. Robert A. Merritt Jr., Area VI representative – Texas
 Chief Master Sgt. James T. Watson, Area VII representative – Arkansas, Kansas, Missouri and Oklahoma
 Lt. Col. Richard I. Brubaker, Area VIII representative – Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio, West Virginia
 Brig. Gen. Richard R. Moss, Area IX representative – Alabama, Louisiana, Mississippi and Tennessee
 Col. William W. Graham, Area X representative – Florida (Includes Puerto Rico and Panama)
 Lt. Col. Thomas G. Hogg, Area XI representative – Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Virginia
 Chief Master Sgt. Charles E. Lucas, Area XII representative – Delaware, District of Columbia and Maryland
 Col. Sanford Rader, Area XIII representative – Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island and Vermont
 Lt Col Nathan D. Hathorne, Area XIV representative – Pacific Region (includes Alaska and Hawaii
 Chief Master Sgt. Michelle A. Lippert, Area XV -representative – Atlantic Region (includes Europe and The Azores
 Col. Frank G. Rohrbough, member at large
[Source: Mar 2012 ++]


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s